Canadian Credit Union Association

Farm Credit Canada – Credit Union Liaison Committee

The Farm Credit Canada (FCC)- Credit Union Liaison Committee was established to provide regular, direct communications and discussions between senior FCC and credit union system representatives relating to issues and opportunities of mutual interest.

The Liaison Committee explores areas of collaboration, information sharing regarding agricultural lending, as well as Canadian agricultural policy. The Committee holds, at least, two meetings annually. The Liaison Committee has also sponsored meetings between FCC and credit unions in most provinces over the past two years. This engagement has resulted in increased co-operation, credit union-FCC co-lending, referral business and joint learning events involving credit unions, FCC and credit union members.”

The Liaison Committee has also established an Issue Resolution Process that seeks to clarify and address extraordinary concerns credit unions (and FCC) may have about activities in the market.

Credit Union Committee members include:

Dave Vanos, Agriculture Markets Manager, Libro Credit Union, Co-chair
Leslie Trobak, Senior Manager Government Relations, CCUA, (Credit Union NLC National Contact)
Ed Michielsen, Vice President, Business Banking, Prospera Credit Union (Representing British Columbia)
Joanne Prysunka, Vice President Agriculture, Connect First Credit Union, and Liz Stretch, Senior Vice President Independent Business and Agriculture, Connect First Credit Union (Representing Alberta)
Todd Andries, Regional Vice President, Agriculture, Conexus Credit Union (Representing Saskatchewan)
James Gosselin, EVP, Financial Services, Steinbach Credit Union (Representing Manitoba)
Ed Boere, Vice President of Credit, Libro Credit Union (Representing Ontario)
Casey Fox, Associate Vice President, Agriculture, Concentra (An observer)
Dave Hergesheimer, Vice President, Lending and Compliance, Credit Union Central of Manitoba (An observer)
Kate Hill, Chief Governance and Compliance Office, Alberta Central CU (An observer)

FCC Committee members include:

Sophie Perreault, Executive VP, COO Co-chair
Don Anderson, Senior VP, Operations, Western (BC and Alberta)
Darren Howden, Senior VP, Operations, Prairie (Saskatchewan and Manitoba)
John Geurtjens
, VP, Operations, (Western Ontario)
Faith Matchett, VP, Operations, (Atlantic & Eastern Ontario)
Nicole Hayes, Executive Manager, Office of the Chief Operating Officer, FCC NLC (national contact)

Farm Credit Canada (FCC) – Credit Union Issue Resolution Process

An Issue Resolution Process (IRP) has been established between FCC and the Canadian credit union system. It aims to address concerns raised by FCC or by credit unions, relating to the activities of the other in the market.

The process aims to ensure concerns are treated seriously, and that all information is surfaced and addressed appropriately. The IRP is an escalating process that seeks to resolve issues locally but that may see some concerns raised to involve the Co-Chairs of the Liaison Committee. The IRP was created to address situations outside the normal course of business including behaviours that are outside of commercial bounds; may undermine good faith efforts to build closer co-operation; or that appear to be outside the mandate of FCC (e.g. in town commercial mortgages, golf course financing, systematic targeting of other clients).If you wish to know more about the IRP, or have a concern you wish to raise, please contact the appropriate person below:

Alberta: Leslie Trobak
Atlantic:  Leslie Trobak
British Columbia: Leslie Trobak
Manitoba: Ted Richert 
Ontario: Ed Boere
Saskatchewan: Glen Ferguson