Skip Links

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau Announces New Cabinet

November 20, 2019

Today, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau named 35 members of the new cabinet. Regionalism has factored heavily into cabinet selection. The cabinet also reflects gender parity with 18 of 35 members being women.

Notably, there are no unelected representatives in cabinet to represent Alberta or Saskatchewan, however, Chrystia Freeland has been named as Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and will be working closely with the Premiers. Also, responsibility for regional affairs has been assigned to several legislators both within and outside of cabinet.

7 Ministers are completely new to cabinet, 9 are staying in their previous portfolios and 19 are taking on a new role within cabinet.

Seven members of cabinet are from Montreal and 11 are from the Greater Toronto Area.

In the coming weeks and months, CCUA will be reaching out to solicit meetings with ministers of importance to the credit union system in order to ensure they are aware of the importance of the credit union system to their portfolio, their community and Canadians across the country.

The ministries and ministers of greatest importance to the credit union system are:
-Bill Morneau remains Minister of Finance.
-Mona Fortier, a new entry to cabinet, becomes Minister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance (a new portfolio).
-Mary Ng becomes Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade.
-Chrystia Freeland becomes Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs.
-Navdeep Bains becomes Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry. (note the split from Economic Development and addition of “Industry”).
-Carolyn Bennett remains Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations.
-Marie-Claude Bibeau remains Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.
-Jonathan Wilkinson becomes Minister of Environment and Climate Change.
-Bardish Chagger becomes Minister of Diversity and Inclusion and Youth.
-Ahmed Hussen becomes Minister of Families, Children and Social Development.
-Diane Lebouthillier remains Minister of National Revenue.
-Marco E. L. Mendicino, a new entry to cabinet, becomes Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship.
-Marc Miller, a new entry to cabinet, becomes Minister of Indigenous Services.
-Maryam Monsef becomes Minister of Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development.
-Deb Schulte, a new entry to cabinet, becomes Minister of Seniors.
-Also, Jim Carr will serve as the prime minister's special representative for the Prairies (a non-cabinet appointment).

Other ministers/ministries include:
-Francois-Philippe Champagne becomes Minister of Foreign Affairs.
-Jean-Yves Duclos becomes President of the Treasury Board.
-Marc Garneau remains Minister of Transport.
-Karina Gould becomes Minister of International Development.
-Bill Blair becomes Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness.
-Steven Guilbeault, a new entry to cabinet, becomes Minister of Canadian Heritage.
-Patty Hajdu becomes Minister of Health.
-Melanie Joly becomes Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages.
-Bernadette Jordan becomes Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard.
-David Lametti remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General.
-Dominic LeBlanc becomes President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada.
-Lawrence MacAulay remains Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence.
-Catherine McKenna becomes Minister of Infrastructure and Communities.
-Joyce Murray becomes Minister of Digital Government.
-Seamus O'Regan becomes Minister of Natural Resources.
-Carla Qualtrough becomes Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion.
-Pablo Rodriguez becomes Leader of the Government in the House of Commons.
-Harjit Sajjan remains Minister of National Defence.
-Filomena Tassi becomes Minister of Labour.
-Dan Vandal, a new entry to cabinet, becomes Minister of Northern Affairs.
-Anita Anand, a new entry to cabinet, becomes Minister of Public Services and Procurement.